Planetfurry BBS Forum Index Planetfurry BBS
Forums for Planetfurry Site Members and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   DonateDonate   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Web Server IP Address Change

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Planetfurry BBS Forum Index -> System News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Whip-lash
Kneel before me... for I am Root!


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:43 am    Post subject: Web Server IP Address Change Reply with quote

The ISP where this web server is hosted at is currently undergoing an upstream IP address range change, which is requiring all of their customers to update their servers to use a new set of IP addresses. The IP address assigned to this server is now:

198.70.140.80

For those who manage their own DNS servers or are otherwise not handled by myself, you will need to update appropriate records to use the new IP
address. If you do not manage your own DNS servers, and are not sure who your DNS administrator is, please contact me as soon as possible. For
sites which I maintain their DNS, you should receive an email address shortly after the update to your zone(s).

I do not expect any unavailability during this change, and both the current and new IP addresses should be accessable. I'm expecting the old IP address to become unavailable sometime between the end of this week and the beginning of next week, depending on the time needed for DNS changes to be distributed. Please contact me as soon as possible if you have any questions or concerns.


Last edited by Whip-lash on Fri Oct 28, 2005 8:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hikaru
Administrator


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 1555
Location: Kansas City, KS, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you set your DNS time-outs down to 15min, 30 min, 1 hr and 4 hrs?

I do that whenever I'm moving a domain accross IP's.

Cheers

_________________
Read my comic: http://www.ImperialGelf.com
Read my stories at http://www.IC-Stories.com
http://katayamma.deviantart.com/

"Coming to you Live and Transcribed..." - TVDave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Whip-lash
Kneel before me... for I am Root!


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately the DNS service I use doesn't allow access to change the TTL, so I am limited to their limit (I believe it is 2 hours, last I checked).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hikaru
Administrator


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 1555
Location: Kansas City, KS, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh... See? You're using the wrong DNS host.

*hint hint*

_________________
Read my comic: http://www.ImperialGelf.com
Read my stories at http://www.IC-Stories.com
http://katayamma.deviantart.com/

"Coming to you Live and Transcribed..." - TVDave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Whip-lash
Kneel before me... for I am Root!


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry, I haven't forgotten. The new server has already been bought, received, and I'm setting it up right now.

Here are a few specs:
  • Dell PowerEdge 1800 (Tower Configuration)
  • Dual 3.0GHz Intel Xeon Processors with 2MB Cache, 800MHz FSB
  • 1GB DDR2 400MHz RAM (will be doubled soon)

The storage that came with the box is only temporary. The finished system will have a 6 channel SATA CERC RAID controller, setup with at least a RAID-5 array. The operating system is under debate. I am leaning towards a clean VMware host, which will host individual servers behind a virtual NAT. This may not be doable, since Ensim is not designed to work behind a NAT (a ton of manual changes, etc.).[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hikaru
Administrator


Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 1555
Location: Kansas City, KS, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've no shortage of IP's. No reason you can't have mutliple IP's if you need 'em.

Cheers.

_________________
Read my comic: http://www.ImperialGelf.com
Read my stories at http://www.IC-Stories.com
http://katayamma.deviantart.com/

"Coming to you Live and Transcribed..." - TVDave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Planetfurry BBS Forum Index -> System News All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group